St Michael & All Angels

Sharing God's Love

 Village & Church Diary


This page will keep you up to date with events around Marden parish (in black) and a little beyond (in blue). If you know of an event that is not listed, please email the diary editor

1. Ongoing Events

2. Village Events

Wednesday 17 July
7.30 pm
Mothers' Union Summer Supper, Vestry Hall

Saturday 20 July
12.00 noon - 1.00 pm Joint police & parish surgery with PCSO Nicola Morris outside the library
Evening
Eighties Night at Marden Village Club. Members & guests only
3.00 pm A talk by Jo Ahmet, KCC Archaeological Finds Liaison Officer, on the history of Kent through its artefacts & treasure from Prehistory up to 1700. Kent History & Library Centre, Maidstone. Tickets £3 - more information from 03000 41 31 31

Thursday 25 July
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing Summer Concert & Party at the Congregational Church.  Contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 26 July
6.00 (picnics) for 7.30 pm 'Ikarus Inc' - a performance by the Rude Mechanical Company on Southons Field - a play about what it takes to achieve your dream. Tickets are £17 + concessions - available from West End Stores and Crowhurst & Tompsett, by ringing 01323 501260 and online. Bring a picnic, your own chair and warm clothing for an English summer

Saturday 27 July
Evening
Dinner & Dance at The Unicorn with Glynn "Mr Soul". Two-course dinner for two people £60. Tickets (01622 831426) on sale from 15 June and 'while stocks last'
7.30 pm Piano Recital by Ieva Dubova - dramatic pieces by Schubert and Liszt - at the United Reformed Church, High Street, Staplehurst.  Entrance is free

Sunday 28 July

2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - The Roarin' Twenties (weather permitting)
10.00 am - 4.00 pm
The Hammond Micro Car Collection Open Weekend at School House Farm Campsite, Hawkenbury. Free admission, tombola, family & dog friendly

Monday 29 July
8.00 pm Open Mic Night at The Unicorn (and on the last Monday of every month)

Thursday 1 August
7.45 pm
Marden W.I. in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 3 August
10.00 am - 12.00 noon
Fresh fish & seafood sales at the West End Tavern
10.30 am Saturday Book Group in the library
ROCK the MOTE present "the best tribute acts in the UK". Mote Park, Maidstone

Sunday 4 August
7.30 pm
Quiz Night at the West End Tavern

Tuesday 6 August
8.00 pm
Marden Motor Club, West End Tavern

Thursday 8 August
2.00 pm
Thursday Book Group in the library

Saturday 10 August
Time TBA
Maidstone District bell ringing event, Parish Church tower

Sunday 11 August

2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - The Bob Bernard Trio (weather permitting)

Monday 12 August
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 13 August
10.30 am
Living Memories, Vestry Hall
8.00 pm Quiz Night at The Unicorn

Saturday 17 August
12.00 noon - 1.00 pm Joint police & parish surgery with PCSO Nicola Morris outside the library

Monday 19 August
12.30 pm
Community Lunch, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 20 August
2.00 - 4.00 pm
Citizens Advice outreach session in the Old Schoolroom

Thursday 22 August
The Church Office is closed

Friday 23 August
10.00 am
Village Café Special Event for Charity of the Month MsF

Sunday 25 August
2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - Doc Brown's Swing Machine (weather permitting)

Monday 26 August
2.00 pm
Craft Group in the Vestry Hall
8.00 pm Open Mic Night at The Unicorn

Tuesday 27 August
10.30 am
Living Memories, Vestry Hall

Sunday 1 September
2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - Blues Brothers Little Brother (weather permitting)

Sunday 8 September
2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - The Groove Platform (weather permitting)

Saturday 14 September
TBA -
MARDEN IN BLOOM's Pop Up Bulb Sale (details to follow)

Sunday 15 September
12.30 - 4.30 pm
Friends of Marden's Heritage Big Musical BBQ. Tickets £10 - save the date, details to follow

Wednesday 25 September
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Geoff Turner on 'Van 132, Soldier, Sailor Spy'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 28 September
TBC -
MARDEN IN BLOOM's Scarecrow Safari on a theme of recycling (details to follow)

Sunday 29 September
3.00 pm 
Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Howard Shelley piano, cond. Roderick Dunk - Dvorak, Rachmaninov, Shostakovich - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Tuesday 8 October

7.45 pm The Pantaloons present Shakespeare's "Othello" in a jazz-age setting at the Queen's Theatre, Cranbrook. Tickets £18 (students £12.50) from 01580 711856 or online

Saturday 12 October
6.40 pm (pre-concert talk)
for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Chabrier, Korngold, Richard Strauss. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Wednesday 23 October

7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Chris Woodward on 'The History of Canals'; tea/coffee and raffle

Sunday 3 November
3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Amy Harman bassoon, cond. Barry Wordsworth - Tchaikovsky, Weber, Schumann - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 9 November

7.45 pm "The Blues Brothers & The Commitments" double tribute show at the Queen's Theatre, Cranbrook. Tickets £22 (students £15, no concessions) from 01580 711856 or online

Wednesday 27 November

7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Mike Doel on 'History of Hopping and the Hartlake Disaster'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 30 November

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

1 - 24 December
Christmas Menu at The Unicorn

Saturday 7 December

MARDEN AT CHRISTMAS - events throughout the village. Details to follow

Saturday 1 February 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Britten, Weber, Arnold, Elgar. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Sunday 2 February 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Susanna Gaspar soprano, Catia Mereso mezzo, Jung Soo tenor, Richard Morrison baritone, cond. Roderick Dunk - OPERA GALA - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Sunday 1 March 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Martin James Bartlett piano, cond. Roderick Dunk - Copland, Ravel, Brahms - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 21 March 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Dukas, Rachmaninov, Stravinsky. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Sunday 5 April 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Thomas Gould violin, cond. Barry Wordsworth - Bizet, Barber, Massenet, Beethoven - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Sunday 3 May 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra  cond. Roderick Dunk - Mozart, Bruckner - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 16 May 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Wagner, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online


A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The Vestry Hall in the centre of Marden Village is available for hire.
Click here for more information.



Contact diary editor