St Michael & All Angels

Sharing God's Love

 Village & Church Diary


This page will keep you up to date with events around Marden parish (in black) and a little beyond (in blue). If you know of an event that is not listed, please email the diary editor

1. Ongoing Events


2. Diary Dates

Friday 16 November
4.30 - 5.30 pm Youth Café (Yr 7 - Yr 13) - Drink, Snack, Games in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 17 November
11.00 am
Village Prayer Walk, starting from the Parish Church
7.30 pm
ARMISTICE CONCERT with the Cranbrook and Paddock Wood Choral Societies and Cranbrook Sinfonia. Karl Jenkins, Tippett, Elgar. Tickets £15 (students £7.50) online, 01580 714828, 01892 836250 - and at the door if available. St Dunstan's Church, Cranbrook

Monday 19 November
12.30 pm
Community Lunch, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 20 November
10.30 am - 12.30 pm
Living Memories, Vestry Hall - How we used to party

Thursday 22 November
2.00 - 4.00 pm Thursday Club Quiz, Marden Village Club

Friday 23 November

6.00 - 9.00 pm Christmas Fayre, Vestry Hall. Festive songs from Marden Primary Choir. Cakes & seasonal produce - bottle tombola - crafts - children's games - raffle - unwanted gifts - cards - refreshments - hot dogs

Saturday 24 November
9.00 am - 12.00 noon
Christmas Fayre, Vestry Hall.
Cakes & seasonal produce - bottle tombola - crafts - children's games - raffle - unwanted gifts - cards - refreshments - breakfast rolls
2.00 pm TREE CHARTER DAY
(Woodland Trust) Meet the Marden Walking Group at the library and discover the trees of Marden Churchyard, Rookery Path, Agriculture, Millennium Path, King Arthur and Southons Field
2.00- 4.00 pm Kent Young Ringers, in the Church Tower
Evening
Entertainment at Marden Village Club - Biggin Hillbillies (live band, country). Members & guests only
12.00 noon - 4.00 pm
Christmas Fayre at Frittenden Memorial Hall, all proceeds to St Mary's Church

Monday 26 November
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 27 November
Evening
Traditional and contemporary wreath making with Eliza Rose, artisan florist. Marden Village Club. Pre-booked tickets only (£15)

Wednesday 28 November

7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Simon Ginnaw on 'The History of Mote Park'; tea/coffee and raffle

Thursday 29 November
2.00-3.30 pm Come and Sing with refreshments at Marden Congregational Church Hall. £1 per session, to cover costs. Info from Sarah (01622 832925) or the Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 30 November
4.30 - 5.30 pm
Youth Café (Yr 7 - Yr 13) - Drink, Snack, Games in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 1 December
10.00 am - 12.00 noon
Fresh fish & seafood sales at the West End Tavern
10.30 am Saturday Book Group in the library
1.00 pm The Roarin' 20s Jazz Band play at Marden Village Club (members & guests only)
6.40 pm (Pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra concert at Mote Hall, Maidstone - Kodaly, Gordon Jacon, Mahler. Tickets £13 to £28 (u-18s free, students with student card £5)

Sunday 2 December
7.30 pm
Quiz Night at the West End Tavern

Tuesday 4 December
9.15 am
Music Time at the Congregational Church
2.00 pm
Macmillan Coffee Afternoon (yes we know, but it is!) in Marden Library
8.00 pm Marden Motor Club, West End Tavern

Wednesday 5 December
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group at the Congregational Church
12.00 noon Storykeepers School Club, Marden Primary School
7.30 pm Wreath-making workshop with Golden Hill in the Vestry Hall, supporting
MARDEN IN BLOOM. Tickets £25 - see posters. (Also on 13 December.)

Thursday 6 December
11.00 am
Mothers' Union Advent Service, Canterbury Cathedral
12.30 pm Wednesday Home Group Christmas Lunch
2.00-3.30 pm Come and Sing with refreshments at Marden Congregational Church Hall. £1 per session, to cover costs. Info from Sarah (01622 832925) or the Medical Centre (01622 831257)
7.30 pm Thursday Home Group, The Old Stable
7.45 pm Marden W.I., Vestry Hall

Friday 7 December
4.30 - 5.30 pm
Youth Café (Yr 7 - Yr 13) - Drink, Snack, Games in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 8 December - MARDEN AT CHRISTMAS:

2.00 - 4.00 pm Collier Street Christmas Fayre at St Margaret's Church
7.30 pm
Christmas Concert by the Kent Police Male Voice Choir with the Queen's Regimental Corps of Drums, in aid of Canterbury Oast Trust. Tickets £11 from 01233 732684 or by email. St Dunstan's Church, Cranbrook

Sunday 9 December
8.00 pm
Charity Concert - a few seasonal songs from Antiphony at Marden Village Club - all welcome

Monday 10 December
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 11 December
9.15 am
Music Time, Congregational Church
10.30 am Living Memories Christmas Special, Vestry Hall
7.30 pm Horticultural Society, Vestry Hall
8.00 pm Quiz Night at The Unicorn

Wednesday 12 December
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congregational Church
12.00 noon Storykeepers School Club, Marden Primary School

Thursday 13 December

W.I. Christmas Lunch at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
2.00 pm Thursday Book Group in the library
7.30 pm Wreath-making workshop with Golden Hill in the Vestry Hall, supporting MARDEN IN BLOOM. Tickets £25 - see posters
7.30 pm
Thursday Home Group, The Old Stable

Friday 14 December
4.30 - 5.30 pm Youth Café (Yr 7 - Yr 13) - Drink, Snack, Games in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 15 December

Evening Christmas Draw and Entertainment at Marden Village Club - Highway 61 (live band, rhythm & blues). Members & guests only

Sunday 16 December
1.00 pm
The West Kent Big Band play at Marden Village Club (members & guests only)

Tuesday 18 December
9.15 am
Music Time at the Congregational Church

Wednesday 19 December
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congragational Church

Thursday 20 December

2.00-3.30 pm Come and Sing end-of-term concert and party at the Congregational Church Hall

Friday 21 December
10.00 am
Christingle making, Parish Church

Monday 31 December

Evening
Entertainment at Marden Village Club - Skabretta (live band, Ska/Reggae). Members & guests only

Monday 21 January
12.30 pm Community Lunch, Vestry Hall

Wednesday 23 January
7.30 pm Marden Society AGM and Social, Vestry Hall

Saturday 2 February

6.40 pm (Pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm
Maidstone Symphony Orchestra concert at Mote Hall, Maidstone - Wagner, Richard Strauss, Shostakovich. Tickets £13 to £28 (u-18s free, students with student card £5)

Wednesday 27 February

7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Nick Hall on 'English Sparkling Wine' - the history and future of English 'fizz'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 23 March

6.40 pm (Pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra concert at Mote Hall, Maidstone - Dvořák, Tchaikovsky, Brahms. Tickets £13 to £28 (u-18s free, students with student card £5)

Wednesday 27 March

7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Cliff Grieve on 'My Adventures in the Land of Blue Sky'; tea/coffee and raffle

Wednesday 24 April
7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Mary Smith on 'A Schoolgirl's War'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 11 May
12.30-5.00 pm
The Northern Belle steam train (Black 5 locomotive, seven Pullman cars) - circular tour of the rolling hills and ancient woodlands of Kent. Champagne &
canapés, four-course lunch with wine, coffee & petits fours. Departs/arrives Maidstone East Station. Tickets £349 pp from, and all profits to, the Heart of Kent Hospice 01622 790195

Saturday 18 May

6.40 pm (Pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm
Maidstone Symphony Orchestra concert at Mote Hall, Maidstone -
Borodin, Schumann, Rachmaninov.
Tickets £13 to £28 (u-18s free, students with student card £5)

Wednesday 22 May
7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Guy Bartlett on 'The History of the Red Arrows'; tea/coffee and raffle

Wednesday 26 June
TBA
Marden Society summer outing

Wednesday 25 September
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Geoff Turner on 'Van 132, Soldier, Sailor Spy'; tea/coffee and raffle

Wednesday 23 October
7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Chris Woodward on 'The History of Canals'; tea/coffee and raffle

Wednesday 27 November 2019
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Speaker TBA; tea/coffee and raffle


A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The Vestry Hall in the centre of Marden Village is available for hire.
Click here for more information.



Contact diary editor