St Michael & All Angels

Sharing God's Love

 Village & Church Diary


This page will keep you up to date with events around Marden parish (in black) and a little beyond (in blue). If you know of an event that is not listed, please email the diary editor

1. Ongoing Events

2. Diary Dates

Friday 24 May
8.30 pm
Live music by Bullshed at The Unicorn

Saturday 25 May
1.00 - 3.30 pm
Marden Motor Show on Southons Field. Marden Motor Club will have between 50 and 100 vintage, classic, retro and supercars on show. Refreshments (provided by the West End Tavern) and raffle. Entry free.
3.00 pm (picnics with musical entertainment to follow) 6.00 pm (concert) PROMS IN THE PARK at Whatman Park Riverstage, Maidstone. Bring your deckchairs & hampers, candelabras & bottles of fizz and enjoy Maidstone Wind Symphony conducted by Jonathan Crowhurst. Free entry

Sunday 26 May
2.30 - 4.30 pm
CHRISTIAN AID Afternoon Tea at 4 Princes Villas, Maidstone Road. £5 for tea, sandwiches & cake

Monday 27 May
Loose Village Duck Race

Thursday 30 May

1.30 - 4.00 pm Marden Art Group in the Vestry Hall (4 of 6). All abilities welcome.  £7.50 for one session. A tutor will be hired for some sessions, which will cost extra
2.00 - 3.30 pm
Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 pp to cover costs. Contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

6.30 - 9.00 pm MUSEUM LATES - History Mystery Tour of Maidstone Museum - Meet the characters who built, lived & worked in the museum's buildings and try a glass of Tudor spiced wine. £10 (MMF £8). Over 18s only

Saturday 1 June
10.00 am - 12.00 noon
Fresh fish & seafood sales at the West End Tavern
10.30 am Saturday Book Group at the Library

Sunday 2 June
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - Walk No. 4 Diamond Jubilee Walk (this walk covers some of the land of the "SaveMarden" campaign. Meet outside the Library
7.30 pm Quiz Night at the West End Tavern

Tuesday 4 June
8.00 pm
Marden Motor Club at the West End Tavern

Thursday 6 June

10.45 am
D Day 75th Commemoration at Marden Parish Church - A short ceremony with the Royal British Legion and children from Marden and Collier Street Schools, to include one minute silence and the laying of poppies. Standards and a bugler will be present. Everyone welcome. If wet, inside the church.
1.30 - 4.00 pm
Marden Art Group in the Vestry Hall (5 of 6). All abilities welcome.  £7.50 for one session. A tutor will be hired for some sessions, which will cost extra
7.45 pm Marden W.I. in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 8 June
8.30 am
MARDEN IN BLOOM's Pop Up Plant Sale outside Crowhurst & Tompsett - Cosmos, Achillea Summer OPastel Mix, Salvia Farinacea Strata - all bee friendly plants
2.00 pm - 7.30 pm (Entertainment from 3.30 pm) Marden's Big Musical Picnic on Southons Field. Tickets (available on the gate only) £5 (seniors £4, 5-15s £2, u-5s free)

Sunday 9 June

The Rotary Club of the Weald of Kent's 34th Annual North Downs Charity Walk. The walk is primarily in aid of Cancer Research UK but walkers may retain 50% of their sponsorship money for their own cause. The Walk starts and finishes at Harrietsham Village Hall with choice of 1,3, 6 or 9 mile routes across the beautiful North Downs. Start times are between 8.00 am and 11.00 am. To register or find details of the routes, maps etc please visit the website.  Alternatively, register at the Hall on the day for a suggested donation of £15 per person. Children 13 and under go free. On completion all walkers receive a free Ploughman’s Lunch, punnet of strawberries and are entertained by a local Jazz Band

Tuesday 11 June
10.30 am
Living Memories in the Vestry Hall
7.30 pm
Horticultural Society in the Vestry Hall
8.00 pm BACK BY POPULAR DEMAND!  Quiz Night at The Unicorn. £2 per person, winning team takes the pot.  (And on the second Tuesday of every month.)

Thursday 13 June

1.30 - 4.00 pm Marden Art Group in the Vestry Hall (6 of 6). All abilities welcome.  £7.50 for one session. A tutor will be hired for some sessions, which will cost extra
2.00 pm
Thursday Book Group in the Library
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 pp to cover costs. Contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 14 June
4.30 pm
Youth Café in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 15 June
2.00 - 3.00 pm Joint police & parish surgery with PCSO Nicola Morris at the Parish Office

Sunday 16 June
RSCM Music Sunday
2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - The Fireflies (weather permitting)

Monday 17 June

12.30 pm Community Lunch at the Vestry Hall

Tuesday 18 June
10.30 am
Mothers' Union Annual Meeting at St Paul's, Canterbury
2.00 - 4.00 pm Citizens Advice outreach session in the Old Schoolroom

Wednesday 19 June
Mothers' Union visit to Aylesford Priory (please let one of the committee know if you are coming)

Thursday 20 June

7.45 pm "6 Hands" (John Williams, John Etheridge & Gary Ryan, guitars) at the Queen's Theatre, Cranbrook. Tickets £29 (students £18, no concessions) from 01580 711856 or online

Friday 21 June

4.30 pm Youth Café in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 22 June
Evening Entertainment at Marden Village Club - live band 4WD, rock/pop covers from every decade. Members and guests only

Monday 24 June
10.30 am
Join the Borough Council for a flag raising event to mark Armed Forces Day. Military guests and local dignitaries will mark the occasion in Jubilee Square, Maidstone
2.00 pm Craft Group in the Vestry Hall

Tuesday 25 June

10.30 am
Living Memories in the Vestry Hall
1.30 - 4.30 pm Marden Society summer outing - on the Kentish Lady down the Medway with a tour of Allington Castle. £30 pp incl. tea/coffee & cake. Contact Carol (01622 832900)

Friday 28 June
4.30 pm Youth Café in the Vestry Hall

Saturday 29 June
2.00 - 4.00 pm
Kent Young Ringers, Parish Church tower
Prosecco Gin & Dance - Live jazz, swing & tributes - Italian street food - wide variety of prosecco, gin & cocktails - photobooth & props. Mote Park, Maidstone. Tickets available online

Sunday 30 June

2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - Bells Yew Green Big Band (weather permitting)
TBA
Strawberry Tea (for Alzheimer's Society), Woodstock, Albion Road

Friday 5 July
to Sunday 7 July The 90th Kent County Show at the Kent Showground, Detling

Sunday 7 July
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - Walk No. 5 West End Wander. Meet outside the Library

Tuesday 9 July

8.00 pm Quiz Night at The Unicorn. £2 per person, winning team takes the pot.  (And on the second Tuesday of every month.)

Thursday 11 July

2.00 - 3.30 pm
Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 pp to cover costs. Contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 12 July
8.30 pm 
Live music by 4WD at The Unicorn

Sunday 14 July

2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - 'Kiwi Kate' Robertson Jazz Trio (weather permitting)

Saturday 20 July
2.00 - 3.00 pm Joint police & parish surgery with PCSO Nicola Morris at the Parish Office
Evening
Eighties Night at Marden Village Club. Members & guests only

Thursday 25 July
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing Summer Concert & Party at the Congregational Church.  Contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 26 July
Time TBA 'Ikarus Inc' - a performance by the Rude Mechanical Company on Southons Field - a play about what it takes to achieve your dream. Tickets are £17 + concessions - available from West End Stores and Crowhurst & Tompsett, by ringing 01323 501260 and online. Bring a picnic, your own chair and warm clothing for an English summer

Sunday 28 July

2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - The Roarin' Twenties (weather permitting)
10.00 am - 4.00 pm
The Hammond Micro Car Collection Open Weekend at School House Farm Campsite, Hawkenbury. Free admission, tombola, family & dog friendly

Saturday 3 August
ROCK the MOTE present "the best tribute acts in the UK". Mote Park, Maidstone

Sunday 11 August

2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - The Bob Bernard Trio (weather permitting)

Saturday 17 August
2.00 - 3.00 pm Joint police & parish surgery with PCSO Nicola Morris at the Parish Office

Sunday 25 August

2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - Doc Brown's Swing Machine (weather permitting)

Sunday 1 September
2.00 - 4.00 pm
West End Tavern Bandstand - Blues Brothers Little Brother (weather permitting)

Sunday 8 September
2.00 - 4.00 pm West End Tavern Bandstand - The Groove Platform (weather permitting)

Saturday 14 September
TBA -
MARDEN IN BLOOM's Pop Up Bulb Sale (details to follow)

Wednesday 25 September
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Geoff Turner on 'Van 132, Soldier, Sailor Spy'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 28 September
TBC -
MARDEN IN BLOOM's Scarecrow Safari on a theme of recycling (details to follow)

Sunday 29 September
3.00 pm 
Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Howard Shelley piano, cond. Roderick Dunk - Dvorak, Rachmaninov, Shostakovich - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Tuesday 8 October

7.45 pm The Pantaloons present Shakespeare's "Othello" in a jazz-age setting at the Queen's Theatre, Cranbrook. Tickets £18 (students £12.50) from 01580 711856 or online

Saturday 12 October
6.40 pm (pre-concert talk)
for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Chabrier, Korngold, Richard Strauss. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Wednesday 23 October

7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Chris Woodward on 'The History of Canals'; tea/coffee and raffle

Sunday 3 November
3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Amy Harman bassoon, cond. Barry Wordsworth - Tchaikovsky, Weber, Schumann - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 9 November

7.45 pm "The Blues Brothers & The Commitments" double tribute show at the Queen's Theatre, Cranbrook. Tickets £22 (students £15, no concessions) from 01580 711856 or online

Wednesday 27 November

7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Mike Doel on 'History of Hopping and the Hartlake Disaster'; tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 30 November

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Saturday 7 December

MARDEN AT CHRISTMAS - events throughout the village. Details to follow

Saturday 1 February 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Britten, Weber, Arnold, Elgar. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Sunday 2 February 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Susanna Gaspar soprano, Catia Mereso mezzo, Jung Soo tenor, Richard Morrison baritone, cond. Roderick Dunk - OPERA GALA - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Sunday 1 March 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Martin James Bartlett piano, cond. Roderick Dunk - Copland, Ravel, Brahms - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 21 March 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Dukas, Rachmaninov, Stravinsky. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online

Sunday 5 April 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra, Thomas Gould violin, cond. Barry Wordsworth - Bizet, Barber, Massenet, Beethoven - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Sunday 3 May 2020

3.00 pm Royal Tunbridge Wells Symphony Orchestra  cond. Roderick Dunk - Mozart, Bruckner - Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells. Box office 01892 530613

Saturday 16 May 2020

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone. Wagner, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky. Tickets £13-£28 (students £5, 18s & under free) on the door or (booking fees apply) 0333 666 3366 or online


A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The Vestry Hall in the centre of Marden Village is available for hire.
Click here for more information.



Contact diary editor