St Michael & All Angels

Sharing God's Love

 Village & Church Diary


This page will keep you up to date with events around Marden parish (in black) and a little beyond (in blue). If you know of an event that is not listed, please email the diary editor

1. Ongoing Events

Until further notice

Building work to improve access is going on at the Medical Centre. Temporarily you will be directed to the extension door at the far end of the MMC car park for entrance and exit. It is recommended that you leave the car in the library car park. Toilet facilities will also be restricted

Until 15 December

Marden Scout Christmas Post - post your Marden and Collier Street cards (fully addressed) in the Scout post boxes. Each will be franked and delivered on 16 December. Boxes at Marden Station kiosk, West End Stores, Library, West End Tavern, Scout HQ (during meetings), Farm Shop, The Unicorn

Until about 31 March

South East Water roadworks - new water main installation - on Goudhurst Road. Traffic controlled by temporary traffic lights between Russell Road junction (Highwood Green) and the Beech crossroads. No impact on local bus routes but extra journey time should be allowed for

2. Diary Dates

Tuesday 12 December
7.30 pm 
Horticultural Society, Vestry Hall - Deb Hart on 'Willow Christmas Decorations'. Mince pies & mulled wine; competition 'Seasonal table decoration'

Thursday 14 December
12.15 pm Thursday Club - Christmas lunch followed by entertainment, Village Club
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing Christmas Concert at the Congregational Church
7.30 pm
Alpha Course "How can I make the most of the rest of my life?", Vestry Hall

Friday 15 December
7.30 pm
Salvation Army carol singing at West End Stores

Saturday 16 December
2.00 - 4.00 pm
Marden Walking Group - Groups A & B tea party at Sutton Forge Barn
Evening entertainment at the Village Club - The Numbers, also Christmas Draw (members and guests only)
6.00 pm Sutton Valence Choral Society - candlelit carol concert in Sutton Valence School Chapel
6.30 pm
Cranbrook Choral Society's Christmas Concert at St Dunstan's Church, Cranbrook. Retiring collection
7.30 pm
Family Carols with Tonbridge Philharmonic Choir in Tonbridge School Chapel. Tickets £10 from 01732 304241

Also on Saturday 16 December
Christmas at Maidstone Museum

Saturday 16 and Sunday 17 December
10.00 am - 4.00 pm (Sat);  12.00 noon - 6.30 pm (Sun)
Angel Festival at All Saints' Church, Staplehurst

Saturday 16 December to Monday 1 January
The Church Office is closed

Sunday 17 December

8.30 pm Carol singing at The Stilebridge - including some less well-known carols that either originated in Kent or used to be sung here in years gone by. Free event

Sunday 31 December
3.30 pm Maidstone Wind Symphony present a Family Festive Spectacular - Christmas favourites & screening of 'The Snowman'. Mote Hall, Maidstone. Tickets £10 online
Evening entertainment at the Village Club - Bad Pandas (members and guests only)

Tuesday 2 January
8.00 pm
Marden Motor Club, West End Tavern

Thursday 4 January
7.45 pm
Marden W.I., Vestry Hall

Saturday 6 January

10.30 am
Saturday Book Group in the library
2.00 pm Marden Walking Group - Group A: Upper Marden followed by tea. Group B: Copper Lane and fields (1 hour). Meet at the library 
7.30 pm
Maidstone Choral Union's Twelfth Night Concert at the United Reformed Church, Maidstone. Retiring collection

Sunday 7 January
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - Aircraft East Walk (4.75 or 7.25 miles depending on weather). Meet at the library
7.30 pm Quiz Night, West End Tavern

Monday 8 January
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 9 January
9.15 am
Music Time, Congregational Church
7.30 pm Horticultural Society, Vestry Hall - Matt Jackson on 'Leeds Castle Garden'

Wednesday 10 January
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congregational Church

Thursday 11 January
2.00 pm
Thursday Book Group in the library

Saturday 13 January
8.15 for 8.30 am
Men's Breakfast, West End Tavern. Speaker Dr Andrew Birnie, consultant & dermatological surgeon. Cost £7 per head. Please tell Geoff if you wish to attend - 01622 831106 or email
2.00 pm Marden Walking Group - Group A: Lower Marden (meet at the Medical Centre). Group B: Millennium Trees and King Arthur (1 hour, meet at the library)

Sunday 14 January
9.00 am - 1.00 pm
Farmers' Market, West End Tavern
12.00 noon (TBC: Mothers' Union Austerity Lunch for Porchlight)

Monday 15th January
12.30 pm
Community Lunch, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 16 January
9.15 am
Music Time, Congregational Church

Wednesday 17 January
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congregational Church

Saturday 20 January

2.00 pm Marden Walking Group - Group A: Upper Marden followed by tea. Group B: Circular route round village (1 hour). Meet at the library

Monday 22 January
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 23 January
9.15 am
Music Time, Congregational Church

Wednesday 24 January
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congregational Church

7.30 pm
Marden Society AGM, Vestry Hall

Saturday 27 January
2.00 pm Marden Walking Group - Group A: Lower Marden (meet at the Medical Centre). Group B: Turkey Farm (1 hour). Meet at the library
2.00 - 4.00 pm Kent Young Ringers, Parish Church Bell Tower

Tuesday 30 January
9.15 am
Music Time, Congregational Church

Wednesday 31 January
9.15 am
Baby & Toddler Group, Congregational Church


Saturday 3 February
9.30 am
Parking Consultation, Memorial Hall - express your views on parking and road safety issues
9.30 am Open Space Consultation, Memorial Hall - express your views on the Parish Council's proposals
6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm: Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone (Berlioz, Elgar, Dvořák). Tickets £12-£26 (student cardholders £5, u-18s FREE) on the door

Sunday 4 February
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - route TBA. Meet at the library

Tuesday 13 February
7.30 pm
Horticultural Society, Vestry Hall - AGM and 'Fifty shades of grey' with Colin Moat. Photographic competition

Tuesday 20 February
10.00 am
Public enquiry (Gladman Developments re 150 residential dwellings). Maidstone House, King Street, Maidstone

Sunday 4 March
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - Aircraft West Walk (5.5 or 7.75 miles depending on weather). Meet at the library

Saturday 10 March
Parish litter pick - to volunteer, phone Ali in the Parish Office (01622 832305) or email

Saturday 24 March

6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm: Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone (Mozart, Brahms, Beethoven). Tickets £12-£26 (student cardholders £5, u-18s FREE) on the door.

Saturday 28 April
Evening concert by Marden-based choir Antiphony at the United Reformed Church, Week Street, Maidstone. Spring charity concert for Hi Kent. Watch for time and ticketing details nearer the event

Saturday 19 May
6.40 pm (pre-concert talk) for 7.30 pm: Maidstone Symphony Orchestra at Mote Hall, Maidstone (Tchaikovsky, Prokoviev, Shostakovich). Tickets £12-£26 (student cardholders £5, u-18s FREE) on the door.

Sunday 10 June
RSCM Music Sunday

Sunday 11 November
7.00 pm
'The Battle's Over' tribute - a national Beacons of Light celebration to mark the end of World War 1


A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The Vestry Hall in the centre of Marden Village is available for hire.
Click here for more information.



Contact diary editor