St Michael & All Angels

Sharing God's Love

 Village & Church Diary


This page will keep you up to date with events around Marden parish (in black) and a little beyond (in blue). If you know of an event that is not listed, please email the diary editor

1. Ongoing Events

2. Diary Dates


Tuesday 22 May
10.30 am - 12.30 pm LIVING MEMORIES "Let's go fly a kite!"  Memory loss - each meeting will have a different theme, with various activities, music and memorabilia to encourage personal memories. Nothing to pay other than a contribution for refreshments. Like to be a volunteer? - come along too. Contact: Rachel (01622 831941) or by email

Wednesday 23 May
9.45 am Marden Walking Group - Turkey Farm. Meet at the library
7.30 pm
Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Steve Hopkins on 'The bits that don't fit - a miscellany of items'; tea/coffee and raffle

Thursday 24 May
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
Thursday Club talk on the Heart of Kent Hospice, Village Club
8.00 pm The Loose Women and Boughton Monchelsea Morris, dancing at the West End Tavern

Saturday 26 May
2.00 pm No Marden Walking Group walks today
3.35 - 4.20 pm
Visiting ringers in the Parish Church tower
Evening entertainment at the Marden Village Club - 4WD, live band rock/pop classics, back by popular demand. (Members and guests only)
Picnics from 3.00 pm, with entertainment to follow Proms in the Park 2018, Whatman Millennium Park Riverstage, Maidstone. Tickets £7 (Early Bird Offer until 30 April £5) u-16s free. Box Office 01622 758611 or online

Sunday 27 May
12.00 noon
Commemorative ringing for Private David Charles Hodgkin (Yorkshire Regiment, died 27 May 1918), Parish Church tower
1.30 pm (walk from Library car park) or 2.00 pm (share cars from car park) or 2.15 pm (meet at Marden Meadow) - Marden Walking Group - Marden Meadow plants explained. Return will be in time for 3.00 pm
3.00 - 5.00 pm
Charity afternoon tea in aid of SKIP in the garden of 4 Princes Villas. Tickets £5 (to Norma in advance, or on the gate)

Wednesday 30 May
9.30 am
Coach leaves the library car park for the Thursday Club's outing to Polhill Garden Centre
9.45 am Marden Walking Group - "Unicorn Walk". Meet at the library

Thursday 31 May
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 per session to cover costs. For more information contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)
6.30 - 9.00 pm "Museum Lates" at Maidstone Museum - Museum History Mystery - costumed characters tell the story of the museum buildings and its various occupants.  £10, over 18s only

Saturday 2 June
10.00 am - 12.00 noon
Fresh fish & seafood at the West End Tavern. 07941 214098
10.30 am
Saturday Book Group in the library
TBC THE WORLD CUSTARD PIE CHAMPIONSHIP in the grounds of Coxheath Village Hall, Stockett Lane. Teams of four can register for £40
2.00 pm 
Marden Walking Group - (A) Southons Field; (B) Turkey Farm. Both groups meet at the library

Sunday 3 June
10.00 am
Marden Walking Group - share cars from the library to Marden Meadow - option to walk back
7.30 pm Quiz Night at the West End Tavern

Tuesday 5 June
10.30 am - 12.30 pm
Living Memories in the Vestry Hall
8.00 pm Marden Motor Club, West End Tavern

Wednesday 6 June
9.45 am
Marden Walking Group - Millennium Trees and Wild Duck. Meet at the library

Thursday 7 June
7.45 pm
Marden W.I., Vestry Hall

Saturday 9 June
8.30 am
Pop-up Plant Sale by
MARDEN IN BLOOM outside Crowhurst & Tompsett
2.00 pm - 8.00 pm The Big Musical Picnic on Southons Field. Games and Music start at 3.30 pm. Tickets £5 (Seniors £4, U-16s £2) available on the gate only

Evening entertainment at the Marden Village Club - Leigh Highwood's Glam Rock Band, live band. (Members and guests only)
Sunday 10 June
9.00 am - 1.00 pm
Farmers' Market, West End Tavern Garden
RSCM Music Sunday
8.00 - 11.00 am Cancer Research UK North Downs Walk, starting from Harrietsham Village Hall. Non-sponsored walkers welcome for a minimum donation of £15. Choice of 1-, 3-, 6- or 9-mile walk; dogs welcome. Free ploughman's lunch, strawberries and a jazz band on return. Details online or call 07519 320919.

Monday 11 June
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 12 June
2.00 pm
Mothers' Union - visit to Tudeley Church and afternoon tea
7.30 pm Horticultural Society, Vestry Hall

8.00 pm NOTE NEW DATE (blackboards which say '7.30' mean '7.30 for 8.00')  Quiz Night at The Unicorn, £2 pp. Also on the second Tuesday of every month

Wednesday 13 June
9.45 am
Marden Walking Group - Orchards. Meet at the library

Thursday 14 June
2.00 pm
Thursday Book Group in the library
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 per session to cover costs. For more information contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Saturday 16 June
Kent v. Berkshire at the Bowls Club
Cartoon Workshops at Maidstone Museum - Gary Northfield (illustrator of Julius Zebra) leads two workshops for budding young cartoonists. Morning 7-11 years; Afternoon 11-15 years. £15
2.00 pm  Marden Walking Group - (A) Cockpits & Bramley Court (meet at the Medical Centre); (B) Millennium Walk & King Arthur (meet at the library)

Sunday 17 June
Time TBC
Cream Tea in aid of the Alzheimer's Society - Woodstock, Albion Road
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm (weather permitting) The Groove Platform playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Monday 18 June

12.30 pm Community Lunch, Vestry Hall. £4 for a home-cooked two course meal. Transport arranged when necessary. Janet (01622 831256)

Tuesday 19 June
2.00 - 4.00 pm Citizens Advice Bureau outreach session, Old Schoolroom (Memorial Hall)

Wednesday 20 June
9.45 am
Marden Walking Group - Turkey Farm. Meet at the library

Saturday 23 June
2.00 pm 
Marden Walking Group - groups (A) & (B) meet at the library for the annual invitation to a farm

Sunday 24 June
2.00 - 4.00 pm
Pimms in the garden of Turnpike House supporting
MARDEN IN BLOOM

Monday 25 June
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Wednesday 27 June
9.30 am MARDEN IN BLOOM
:  Weed- and litter-picking session along High Street, Church Green and West End. All welcome
Marden Society outing - boat trip on Bewl Water and afternoon tea. Tickets from Mo (01622 831529) £11.50

Thursday 28 June
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 per session to cover costs. For more information contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)
6.00 - 9.00 pm "Museum Lates" at Maidstone Museum - Cherry Ripe & Kentish Wares - explore (free) stalls selling local crafts & produce, and (entrance £10) learn more about cherries! Free G&T for those attending the talk. Market free, cherry event £10, over 18s only

Friday 29 June
to Sunday 1 July
Changeling Theatre Company - Shakespeare's Measure for Measure and Noel Coward's Blithe Spirit at Boughton Monchelsea Place

Saturday 30 June

9.30 am Village litter picking (MARDEN IN BLOOM)
2.00 pm  Marden Walking Group - (A) Walk TBA (meet at the Medical Centre); (B) Orchards to Plain Road & return (meet at the library)
FUN DOG SHOW at Boughton Monchelsea Recreation Ground. 18 categories judged on the day including Best Trick, Dog Most Like Its Handler, Best Biscuit Catcher, and a Hurdles Race. Proceeds to Medical Detection Dogs. More information from Jill (01622 744098)

Sunday 1 July
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm (weather permitting) Tim and Kate Robertson playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Tuesday 3 July
10.30am
Living Memories, Vestry Hall

Friday 6 July
10.00am
Cakes/Produce Sale (for Five Talents), Vestry Hall

Saturday 7 July
Kent v. Surrey at the Bowls Club

10.00 am - 12.00 noon
Fresh fish & seafood at the West End Tavern. 07941 214098
TBA
PTA Summer Fair on the School Field

Evening entertainment at the Marden Village Club - SKAbretta, live band Reggae/Ska. (Members and guests only)


Monday 9 July
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 10 July
8.00 pm (blackboards which say '7.30' mean '7.30 for 8.00')  Quiz Night at The Unicorn, £2 pp. Also on the second Tuesday of every month

Thursday 12 July
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing at the Congregational Church. £1 per session to cover costs. For more information contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Friday 13 July
6.00 - 8.00 pm
Neighbourhood Plan (final draft) Open Session at the Parish Office. Read a copy on line and download feedback

Saturday 14 July
9.00 am - 12.00 noon
Neighbourhood Plan (final draft) Open Session in the John Banks Hall. Read a copy on line and download feedback

Laura Jurd of the wonder band 'Dinosaur' is Artistic Director for a one-day jazz festival at Little Mill Oast, featuring also Rob Luft, Corrie Dick and the Elliot Galvin Trio. Start time and ticket prices TBC. Ticket numbers will be limited to 90 so when the (work in progress) website is launched, book quickly! Beult Concerts' updates also on Facebook.

Sunday 15 July
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm (weather permitting) Bells Yew Green Big Band playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand
6.00 pm - 8.00 pm
J.A.M. barbecue, Vicarage

Monday 16 July
12.30pm
Community Lunch, Vestry Hall

Tuesday 17 July
10.30am Living Memories, Vestry Hall
2.00 - 4.00 pm Citizens Advice Bureau outreach session, Old Schoolroom (Memorial Hall)

Wednesday 18 July
7.30 pm
Mothers' Union Summer Supper, Vestry Hall

Thursday 19 July
2.00 - 3.30 pm Come and Sing end-of-term celebration at the Congregational Church. For more information contact Sarah (01622 832925) or Marden Medical Centre (01622 831257)

Sunday 22 July
Girl band Little Mix - high-energy show at the Kent Events Centre, Detling Showground

Monday 23 July
2.00 pm
Craft Group, Vestry Hall

Thursday 26 July
7.30 pm
The Rude Mechanical Theatre Production's performance of "Oberon's Cure" on Southons Field. Details to follow

Saturday 28 July

Evening entertainment at the Marden Village Club - Ricky Fontayne, Tribute Act, 50s/60s Rock 'n' Roll. (Members and guests only)

Sunday 29 July
2.00 pm
Pimms and a talk on garden planting, in the garden of The Old Vicarage, Maidstone Road, supporting
MARDEN IN BLOOM
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm (weather permitting) Bob Bernard Trio playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Sunday 12 August
12.00 noon Parish Church bring-your-own picnic on Southons Field. All welcome
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm (weather permitting) The Fireflies playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Tuesday 14 August
8.00 pm (blackboards which say '7.30' mean '7.30 for 8.00')  Quiz Night at The Unicorn, £2 pp. Also on the second Tuesday of every month

Friday 17 August to Sunday 19 August
Changeling Theatre Company - Shakespeare's Measure for Measure and Noel Coward's Blithe Spirit at Boughton Monchelsea Place

Tuesday 21 August
2.00 - 4.00 pm Citizens Advice Bureau outreach session, Old Schoolroom (Memorial Hall)

Sunday 26 August
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
(weather permitting) West Kent Big Band playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Sunday 9 September
2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
(weather permitting) Blues Brothers Little Brother playing at the West End Tavern Bandstand

Tuesday 18 September
2.00 - 4.00 pm Citizens Advice Bureau outreach session, Old Schoolroom (Memorial Hall)

Sunday 23 September
Deanery Confirmation Service at Sissinghurst Church.

Wednesday 26 September
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Melanie Gibson-Barton on 'The life of Edith Cavell'; tea/coffee and raffle

Sunday 30 September
Entry deadline for the two 
MARDEN IN BLOOM photographic competitions

Wednesday 24 October
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Mary Douglas on 'Handbells' (talk & demonstration); tea/coffee and raffle

Saturday 3 November
TBA
PTA Firework Display on Southons Field

Sunday 11 November
7.00 pm
'The Battle's Over' tribute - a national Beacons of Light celebration to mark the end of World War 1

Wednesday 28 November
7.30 pm Marden Society, Vestry Hall. Simon Ginnaw on 'The history of Mote Park'; tea/coffee and raffle

Wednesday 5 December
7.30 pm
Wreath-making workshop with Golden Hill in the Vestry Hall, supporting
MARDEN IN BLOOM

Wednesday 5 December
7.30 pm
Christmas table-decoration workshop with Golden Hill in the Vestry Hall, supporting
MARDEN IN BLOOM


A D V E R T I S E M E N T
The Vestry Hall in the centre of Marden Village is available for hire.
Click here for more information.



Contact diary editor